top of page


RES-Q+ is pleased to introduce members of the External Advisory Board (EAB), who represent different expertise related to project outputs development, validation and implementation in clinical practice, in other medical fields, and on the market as well. The EAB is gender balanced.



University College Dublin, Ireland

Peter Kelly trained in clinical Neurology and Stroke in Dublin and in Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. He is a clinician, Stroke Service co-leader, and Professor of Neurology at Mater University Hospital/University College Dublin. He holds Bachelors and Doctorate of Medicine, and Masters in Physiology from UCD, and a Masters degree in Clinical Investigation from Harvard/Massachusetts Institute of Technology Boston. He has published widely in leading journals, mainly in stroke prevention, but also in acute stroke and recovery. His research focus is on clinical trials and risk prediction in atherosclerosis, TIA and atrial fibrillation using MRI, PET, and blood biomarkers. He is Chief Investigator on the international CONVINCE trial and several other studies, and Lead Investigator for the Stroke Clinical Trials Network Ireland.



University of Luxemburg, Luxembourg

Latif Ladid is the Founder & President of IPv6 Forum as well as the Founding Co-chair of IEEE 5G World Forum. He is currently a Senior Researcher with the University of Luxembourg on multiple European Commission Next Generation Technologies IST Projects. Ladid is also a Co-Chair of IEEE BlockChain Forum, Board Member of 3GPP PCG and a member of the Future Internet Forum EU Member States (representing Luxembourg). He has been awarded the IPv6 LifeTime Achievement Award in 2016 in recognition of his work for advocating the take-up of Internet Protocol version 6.



VID Specialized University, Oslo Norway

Zada Pajalic has worked at universities in Sweden and Norway since 2003. Pajalic obtained a PhD and doctorate in medical sciences at Örebro University, Sweden. Pajalic completed a postdoctoral position focusing on robotics and independent ageing at Linnæus University, Sweden. She works on bachelor's, master’s, and doctoral programs in health science education. Extensive research outputs have made Pajalic an approved professor (full) in e-health, welfare technology, geriatrics, nursing and health sciences. Pajalic is a member of the Nordic Scientific Committee of Gerontology. She leads the research group Sustainable Healthcare and Welfare Technology (SHWT) at the Faculty of Health Sciences VID Oslo. The (SHWT) conducts research that thematizes innovation, implementation and evaluation related to the development of healthcare and quality work in collaboration with healthcare professionals and users of healthcare. This includes research on robotics, artificial intelligence, e-health, nutrition, information and communication technology (ICT), welfare technology and the quality of healthcare services in home care, hospitals and nursing homes.



Hospital Universitario Virgen Macarena, Seville

Joan Montaner completed his studies in Medicine and Surgery at the Faculty of Medicine in Cadiz. He specialised in Neurology at the Vall d'Hebron University Hospital in Barcelona. He received his research training within the programme at the Instituto de Salud Carlos III, Fondo de Investigaciones Sanitarias, part of which was carried out at the Neuroprotection Research Laboratory at the Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard University, Boston, MA, USA. He created the Neurovascular Research Laboratory at the Vall d'Hebron Research Institute (VHIR) in Barcelona in 2001 and is the director of the IBIS-HVR Stroke Programme in Seville, since 2013, where he also directs the Neurology Service at the University Hospital Macarena. Dr. Montaner's clinical and laboratory work focuses on the identification of biomarkers to be used as diagnostic and prognostic tools in ischaemic and haemorrhagic stroke.



Center for Clinical Studies in Neurology, Korneuburg, Austria

His medical-scientific basis is the speciality of neurology, neurorehabiltation and neurogeriatrics. Andreas Winkler graduated at the Medical University Vienna, Austria and completed postgraduate studies in Neuroscience at the National Institute of Neurology and Neurosurgery, Queen Square, London and in Neurological Rehabilitation at the Danube-University Krems He holds Diploma for Geriatrics, Palliative medicine, Neurorehabilitation, Neurology and Neuroscience. During his career he was Head of Department of Neurology, Haus der Barmherzigkeit, Vienna, from 2010 to 2023 Head of Neurological Department at the Clinic Pirawarth, Bad Pirawarth and Vienna, and since 2023 holds the position of Medical Director of the Institute Neuromed, Center for Clinic Sciences in Neurology. His scientific interests and expertise comprise the rehabilitation and treatment of stroke, neurotrauma, neurodegenerative diseases (Alzheimer`s), pain syndromes, neuropsychosomatic - and neuogeriatric conditions. Winkler is member of several national and international scientific associations, currently Vice-President of the Alzheimer Austria e.V. and Past President of the Austrian Society for Clinical Sciences in Neurorehabilitation (ÖGKFR). He is lecturer at the Medical University Vienna (MUW) and the Danube University, Krems.



St Vincent’s Health Network Sydney, Australian Catholic University, Australia

Sandy Middleton is a Professor of Nursing and Director of the Nursing Research Institute. She is also a National Health and Medical Research Council Leadership Fellow. Professor Middleton has a particular interest in stroke and implementation research. She was the lead investigator on the landmark NHMRC-funded QASC cluster trial demonstrating decreased death and dependency following implementation of nurse-initiated protocols to manage fever, hyperglycaemia and swallowing post-stroke, winning multiple national and international awards. She has published in high impact journals including The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine. Professor Middleton is a member of the Board of Director for the NSW Clinical Excellence Commission. She is Director of the Maridulu Budyari Gumal Sydney Partnership for Health Education, Research and Enterprise (SPHERE) Implementation Science platform; Director of the Maridulu Budyari Gumal SPHERE Nursing and Midwifery Implementation Science Academy; and Chair of the Steering Committee of the Australian Stroke Clinical Registry.

bottom of page